Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale
Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale__below


Watching You







Description

Product Description

“Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions…Tricky, clever, unexpected.” —New York Times Book Review

“Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse.” —People

“A seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” ( People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” ( Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.

Amazon.com Review

Watching You is a twisty cat-and-mouse thriller of voyeurism, obsession, and murder. Multiple narratives guide the action, which begins with a brutal death and works backwards to unmask the killer. A charming little English town is the ideal setting for characters who become more complex and intriguing as the pages go by. It’s not just the adults keeping a watchful eye on the neighbors and trying to uncover each other’s secrets—a couple of the local teenagers also have their own theories as to who is doing what--and with whom. Everyone in this quaint neighborhood seems to have a secret they’re desperate to keep, but whose is worth killing for? Author Lisa Jewell keeps readers guessing all the way through to an ending you won’t see coming. --Seira Wilson, Amazon Book Review

Review

Praise for Watching You:
 

Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions …Tricky, clever, unexpected.”New York Times Book Review

A twisty British mystery... Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse.”  ― People

“Page one intrigued me. Page three hooked me. By page five, I was consumed. This compulsive, propulsive novel is both a seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama. Stellar.” -- A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

" A twisty whodunit." ― Cosmopolitan

" Big Little Lies-esque small town drama with stakes as high as Amy from Gone Girl''s IQ, Lisa Jewell''s latest thriller is not to be missed." ― InStyle

" Watching You takes the idea of obsession to chilling heights." ― PopSugar

" This suspense is going to have you turning the pages all night long." ― Bustle

"Stellar domestic drama... Expert misdirection keeps the reader guessing, and the rug-pulled-out-from-beneath-your-feet conclusion—coupled with one final, bonechilling revelation—is stunning. Best not to bet on anyone. A compulsive read guaranteed to please fans of A. J. Finn and Ruth Ware." ― Booklist (starred review)

"Jewell weaves a taut multiperspective, domestic/community suspense story that is sure to please fans of Ruth Ware and A.J. Finn." ― Library Journal (starred review)

"[A]  spine-tingling thriller...Lisa Jewell’s gripping novel Watching You unravels a tangled web of rumors—and a shocking twist." ― Real Simple

“Eerie and bone-chilling… this page turner surprises and stuns.”  ― Woman''s World Magazine

" A juicy new page-turner." ― Brit+Co

“[A] crafty conundrum…the author smoothly juggles multiple story lines… prepare to be blindsided by the murder victim’s identity, not revealed until late in the game—and an even more stunning final surprise. Jewell does a masterly job of maintaining suspense.” ― Publishers Weekly

“Jewell adeptly weaves together a complex array of characters in her latest thriller. The novel opens with the murder investigation and deftly maintains its intensity and brisk pace...Jewell''s use of third-person narration allows her to explore each family''s anxieties and sorrows, which ultimately makes this novel''s ending all the more unsettling. An engrossing and haunting psychological thriller.” ― Kirkus Reviews

 " A master at unspooling tightly told tales, Jewell specializes in perfectly-pitched thrillers without sacrificing a drop of her characters’ complexities, secrets, and desires, and this latest one is no exception." ― The Seattle Review of Books

" Jewell excels in creating complex characters, building tension and keeping readers in the dark yet riveted until the "Aha!" moments...this thriller unfolds and concludes in a very satisfying way." ― Shelf Awareness

"In her latest mystery, bestselling author Lisa Jewell combines the cloistered charm of a small English village with the curiosity, paranoia and nosy fatalism of Rear Window. Then comes a dose of lust and lies and the sinister pursuit of Fatal Attraction. It’s a thrilling trifecta...With 16 novels to her credit and more twists up her sleeve than a master magician, Jewell is sure to keep you up at night." ― Minneapolis Star Tribune

About the Author

Lisa Jewell is the #1  New York Times bestselling author of nineteen novels, including  The Family Upstairs and  Then She Was Gone, as well as  Invisible Girl and  Watching You. Her novels have sold over 5 million copies internationally, and her work has also been translated into twenty-nine languages. Connect with her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK, on Instagram @LisaJewellUK, and on Facebook @LisaJewellOfficial.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

Prologue

PROLOGUE
MARCH 24

DC Rose Pelham kneels down; she can see something behind the kitchen door, just in front of the trash can. For a minute she thinks it’s a bloodstained twist of tissue, maybe, or an old bandage. Then she thinks perhaps it is a dead flower. But as she looks at it more closely she can see that it’s a tassel. A red suede tassel. The sort that might once have been attached to a handbag, or to a boot.

It sits just on top of a small puddle of blood, strongly suggesting that it had fallen there in the aftermath of the murder. She photographs it in situ from many angles, and then, with her gloved fingers, she plucks the tassel from the floor and drops it into an evidence bag, which she seals.

She stands up and turns to survey the scene of the crime: a scruffy kitchen, old-fashioned pine units, a green Aga piled with pots and pans, a large wooden table piled with table mats and exercise books and newspapers and folded washing, a small extension to the rear with a cheap timber glazed roof, double doors to the garden, a study area with a laptop, a printer, a shredder, a table lamp.

It’s an innocuous room, bland even. A kitchen like a million other kitchens all across the country. A kitchen for drinking coffee in, for doing homework and eating breakfast and reading newspapers in. Not a kitchen for dark secrets or crimes of passion. Not a kitchen for murdering someone in.

But there, on the floor, is a body, splayed facedown inside a large, vaguely kidney-shaped pool of blood. The knife that had been used is in the kitchen sink, thoroughly washed down with a soapy sponge. The attack on the victim had been frenzied: at least twenty knife wounds to the neck, back, and shoulders. But little in the way of blood has spread to other areas of the kitchen—no handprints, no smear, no spatters—leading Rose to the conclusion that the attack had been unexpected, fast, and efficient and that the victim had had little chance to put up a fight.

Rose takes a marker pen from her jacket pocket and writes on the bag containing the red suede tassel.

Description: “Red suede/suedette tassel.”

Location: “In front of fridge, just inside door from hallway.”

Date and time of collection: “Friday, March 24, 2017, 11:48 p.m.”

It’s probably nothing, she muses, just a thing fallen from a fancy handbag. But nothing was often everything in forensics.

Nothing could often be the answer to the whole bloody thing.

Product information

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale

Watching You: A 2021 online Novel online sale